Awards & Testimonials

Big White Ski Resort Awards

The awards and accolades for Big White just keep rolling in! From our challenging terrain to our warm hospitality and world-class restaurants, everyone finds something to praise about Big White.

2014

2014 Best Ski-in, Ski-out Resort,  The Telegraph United Kingdom

"...virtually all the hotels and apartments in this modern resort are ski-in/ski-out, with the main lifts starting below village level. Even the main street through the center of the resort is a designated ski run, which can be traversed to get to lifts or back to accommodation.
...an abundance of snow combined with lots of trees for shelter means it’s a great place to learn powder. There’s also an area called Happy Valley at the bottom of the village offering activities such as ice skating, snowmobiling and tubing, served by a gondola that runs till 10pm." - The Telegraph

2014 Family Ski Resort Of The Year - People's Choice,  Snow Action Magazine Australia

"There were a lot of popular choices for family skiing overseas this year, but one stood out from the pack with a clear lead, so Big White gets your gong as our Family Ski Resort Of The Year 2014. Sure the kids will drink to that"  - Snow Action Magazine

2014 Best International Family Ski Resort, Out & About with Kids - Best of Family Travel Awards

This win comes from thousands of votes from the magazines' readers over six months from October 2013 to April of 2014.  View the full article with the all winners and finalists here. Big White's award can be seen on page 25.

2014 Top Ski Resort, Skiresort.info

The ski resort Big White has been presented with the Top Ski Resort Award by Skiresort.info, the largest ski resort test portal in the world. The Skiresort.info Team has extensively tested the ski resort covering 18 evaluation criteria during the 2013/2014 season. Big White achieved a top rating with 4.3 out of 5 possible stars.- Skiresort.info
Click here to view a detail list of all 16 honours awarded to Big White Ski Resort.

2014 The Cliff ranked #98, Top 100 Ski Runs in the World

"To make sure the snow hounds among us get equal treatment to the beach bums, we asked some of the world's top skiers, snowboarders and winter sports journalists to name their favorite ski run.

Our panel included Andrew Weibrecht, Olympic medalist and U.S. ski team member; John Stifter, editor at U.S. ski bible Powder magazine; Mike Douglas, the godfather of free-skiing and creator of the world's first twin-tip ski; and Nicola Iseard, editor of the UK's top ski magazine, Fall Line." View full article and list.

2014 Nominee for Best Ski Resort in Canada, World Ski Awards

World Ski Awards is the only global initiative to recognise, reward and celebrate excellence in ski tourism. View full list of nominees.


2013

2013 Best Area Ski Hill, Welcome to Kelowna - Best of Kelowna Awards

Over 67,000 people cast their votes and named Big White Ski Resort the Best Area Ski Hill for 2013.

2013 Best Ski Resort, About.com Reader’s Choice Awards

Big White Ski Resort took home top honors from About.com readers who raved about the loads of Champagne powder the resort gets annually. Readers said, "Love this Ski Resort - Best Snow!" "An amazing place to ski or ride..." and "The bountiful, dry powder is legendary!" 

2013 Best Pow Bros Man-Cation, Ski Canada's Best of Skiing in Canada Awards

"Get the guys together for a boy's three-day weekend at Big White: a two-day Edge Camp specifically for me (no asking for directions), a snowmobile tour in the backcounty, follwed by a scotch-tasting with cigars at a remote hut with a steak barbecue (or just eat 'em raw), a ski boot fitting and a trip down to Kelowna in a limo for a Kelowna Rockets hockey game. Practiv your high-fiving now." Ski Canada Magazine

2013 Gunbarrel Grill at Big White earns Certificate of Excellence, TripAdvisor

TripAdvisor is delighted to recognize Gunbarrel Grill at Snowshoe Sam's with a 2013 Certificate of Excellence. This prestigious award identifies the Gunbarrel Grill in the top-performing 10% of all businesses worldwide on TripAdvisor!
 

2012

#3 “Things to do in the Okanagan Valley", Trip Advisor

Voted number three out of over seventy locations in the Okanagan Valley. View article

Family Resort of the Year, 2012, Snow Action Magazine in Australia

“If you look up ‘family friendly’ in the dictionary you’ll find a picture of Big White. We’re not the first to recognise this fact, and I doubt we’ll be the last either”. Snow Action Magazine. View Article

Tommi Tyndall Award, Far West Ski Areas Association

Recognition for continuation of outstanding and long term support of the skiing public, the local community, the Far West Ski Association and it’s Councils and Clubs. “Big White embodies the spirit of the Tommi Tyndall Award and are deserving of recognition as this year’s recipient”. Far West Service Awards

Big White voted "Best Park & Pipe" in the Pacific Northwest, On The Snow's 2012 Visitor's Choice Awards 

2012 BC Alpine Event of the Year - K1 Provincials - Big White Racers/Kelowna Ski Club

A total of 205 racers ages 11-12 competed in 3 day event that included Giant Slalom, Slalom and Ski Cross races under glorious sunny blue skies Mar 16-18. To execute an event of this magnitude is not for the faint of heart as it takes 120 volunteers a day with a can do attitude under the leadership of a dedicated Race and Social committee.  Race courses groomed to perfection, timing that was flawless and race officials that radiated pride were eminent all weekend long.

For details on this prestigious award check out our blog

2011

Ogopogo Zone named the CSPS 2011 National Outstanding Zone in Canada

 The members and leadership of the Kelowna-area chapter of the Canadian Ski Patrol System (CSPS) have been honored with the highest possible designation by Canada’s national ski patrol organization, named as the best CSPS zone in Canada on May 28th at the CSPS’s national annual conference in Winnipeg.

Read the press release in our blog

 Big White voted "Favourite Terrain" in the Pacific Northwest

 Big White has favorite Pacific Northwest downhill terrain. OntheSnow

2011 Ski Canada Best of Skiing Awards, Ski Canada Magazine

Best Weather – if you like powder on your powder – Big White

Best Place for Extreme Leisure – Big White – rotating slow zones

Best New Wave – Big White – racing your buddies on the public SnowCross

Best Pairing for St. Paddy’s Day – Big White’s Globe Café & Tapas Bar

Ski Canada Best of Skiing Awards 2011

Big White Wins Best Access out of all North American Resorts! The Telegraph, United Kingdom

Contrary to many people's expectations, most North American resorts have at least some ski-in, ski-out accommodation. But few can rival Big White for its ski convenience – virtually all the hotels and apartments in this modern, purpose-built resort are ski-in, ski-out, with the main lifts starting below village level and even the Main Street being dubbed a ski run by the resort.

The terrain suits intermediates best, and the fact that it gets a lot of snow and has a lot of trees for shelter means that it is a good place to learn to ski powder. There's also a great area called Happy Valley with other activities such as ice skating, snowmobiling, tubing and snowshoeing, served by a gondola that works till late.

Read the Best Access out of all North American Ski Resorts press release.

Voted In Top 5 Family Ski Resorts, Sunday Times, United Kingdom

Big White Ski Resort, located 55 kilometers east of Kelowna, British Columbia, has been recognized as one of the Top Five family resorts for UK skiers. A recent story in the prestigious Sunday Times notes, "This resort offers ski in, ski out convenience and, with the strength of the pound against the Canadian dollar, is affordable. The resort is laid back and perfect for families."

Read the Top 5 Family Ski Resort press release.

Best Snow in North America, Condé Nast's Traveler

Condé Nast’s Traveler is one of the leading travel publications with 3.1 million readers. This year, Condé Nast conducted a poll to determine the top 20 ski resorts in North America and Big White was rated "Best Snow in North America".

Best Place to Session a Precision Terrain Park, SBC Ski and Snowboard Resort Guide

"In a collaborative effort between seasoned park masterminds, dedicated grooming staff and a long lasting sponsorship commitment from TELUS means parks with safe, precision features all winter long," said SBC resort guide. No wonder they've helped produce such talent as TJ Schiller, Mark Sollars, Geoff Pepperdine, Jess Kimura and Josh Bibby.

Big White Rated #3 in Top 100 Ski Holidays: First-timers and Families, Daily Telegraph

"There is much to be said for learning in your own language. The ski school has a sound reputation for friendly instruction and the nursery slopes are good. Big White Condos are scattered throughout."

View the Top 100 Ski Holidays.

Awards from 2008 & Previous Years

Testimonials


 

Snow Hosts

March 10th, 2012

Thank you for the opportunity to give you some positive feedback regarding the snow host program.
As new visitors to Big White we were most impressed with the program, the hosts, their knowledge of the mountain and their casual, friendly and professional demeanor. We would most certainly and strongly recommend this program to any of our friends thinking of visiting Big White. All of their knowledge allowed us to have a truly magical and wonderful holiday and with free beers and appies thrown in. Better value anywhere in the world I am sure would be difficult to find at such a price - FREE!

We took advantage of the snow host program over 5 days to help better our knowledge of the mountain, its many runs and its facilities and were warmly welcomed with good advice regarding suitable runs and access routes which we have now taken advantage of on many occasions.

Our snow hosts were Bayla, Sue, Andrew, Carlan and David. Each one of them was able to instill their knowledge and passion for skiing at Big White. We can't thank them enough or the management of Big White for making this program available to the general public as a free service.

Long may this service continue.

Kindest Regards

Peter Crawford and Brad McCubbin - Melbourne, Australia

Extremely Happy with Cross Country Trails

January, 2014

I skate ski on the trails every morning (early) and I am extremely happy with the condition and the care that is put into them on a daily basis.  My feelings are that Big White Ski Resort does a phenomenal job maintaining the trails and that they worked very hard this past summer designing new trails so that the different recreational groups (dog sledding, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, cross country skiing and snowshoeing) would each have their own trail system and not take a chance of running into each other on the trails. 

I can only thank Big White Ski Resort for continuing to perfect our incredible trail system as I can't imagine starting my days any other way than on the cross country trails. 

Cheers,
Leanne

One of the Most Excellent Vacations

January, 2014

To Whom It May Concern,

I would like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude to Big White for providing my family and I with one of the most excellent vacations we have ever been on. We recently visited the resort from Ontario, and are already planning our trip back. The skiing was excellent, as were the restaurants, however what Big White offered that was so impressive was their customer service. All of the staff at Big White went out of their way to make our trip as enjoyable as possible, and truly made us feel welcome. My two sons thoroughly enjoyed having the opportunity to refine their skating abilities, and were provided with excellent tips and tricks from your skating instructor Ben who always greeted them with a friendly face and lots of energy. My husband and I really appreciated Big White's dedication to hiring exemplary employees, and we look forward to coming back next year.

Leslie and Family

 

Totally Impressed

November, 2013

After skiing Whistler for 25 years, and with intermittent trips to Aspen/Snowmass and Alta/Snowbird, I only "discovered" Big White last winter.  It was my first time to the BC Interior and I came away totally impressed with Big White, so much so, I am already planning to return this winter.

Sincerely,

Joe Kowalski
Canada's Premier Raft and Kayak Resort Company


Powder Hounds

April 5th, 2013

We came to Big White to watch my godson compete in the Canadian national snowboardcross championships and for adaptive skiing for me.  Everyone we met was friendly and helpful and the Powder Hounds team could not have been more professional and hospitable to me and my wife.  I gained more independence in the bi-ski in the last 8 days than at either Whistler with the WASP team, or at Park City Utah with the US National Ability Centre team previously.  I have such admiration, respect and appreciation for this amazing band of volunteers.  I hope they continue to receive the support they so greatly deserve from Big White Mountain Resort. 

Huge thanks and respect to the Powder Hounds guys who helped me gain confidence to ski the Big White terrain on a single tether.  Previously I had been helped with a thumb assist or with reins on easier runs.

Best wishes for the closed season and for next winter.

 Simon Edwards

Awesome Time

January 16th, 2012

I just wanted to say that we had an awesome time at the resort this past weekend! The weather was great, the fresh snow was awesome, and all the staff at the mountain were friendly, warm, and fun to interact with. I can certainly see why Ryan and the rest of the family speak so highly of the resort and the Kelowna area.

Thank you so very much to you and your team (please thank them for all their help). I can't wait for my next opportunity to get back up to Big White and I must say the Kelowna area makes me want to rethink where I want to live!

All the best and enjoy the fresh snow that is forecasted for this week.

Devan Pennell

Ski Patrol

January 6th, 2012

I want to send a big thank you to Greg, the ski patrol employee (with long dark brown hair!!) who helped my son, Craig Mathieson, on Thursday afternoon at the TELUS park lift. He splinted his arm after a bad fall that resulted from boarding into a tree. We discovered today, after an x-ray, that he has indeed broken his arm. Both the doctor we saw at the walk-in clinic last night and the doctor who saw him today were very complimentary on the bandaging and splint that were done by Greg. Please ensure that our thanks are conveyed to Greg and that we really appreciate the care that was taken by him.
Julie Mathieson - West Kelowna, BC

Warm regards, Julie and Dave Mathieson

Fun at Big White

January 2nd, 2012

I LOVE Big White and these incredible instructors; David Clay, Alyn Nash, Berne Watters, and Tally Harry-Thomas. Also met Paul from Quebec who FINALLY got me down the steep slope for which I was prepared (thanks to David and Berne), but about which I was still anxious. Proof that it's NEVER too late to learn to ski! Ladies' Day was incredible. Cruz the Blues--so much fun! Dog sledding was out of this world--educational and exciting! All ages everywhere, snowshoeing trails and the dog-friendliness of the entire resort--the best!

Susan Young - Stratford, ON

Keep it Up!!!

September 29th, 2011

Best skiing and village in the world and that's before you add in the great snow, awesome weather, fantastic groomed trails (snowmobile and cross-country), and all the extra activities. We love Big White. When all my friends head south of the border to warm up from the Northern Alberta winters, we head to Big White for some friendship, great times and a little RIP and SHRED. Keep up the awesome work. Oh yeah, can't forget the best staff in Canada. Our girls love the Ski School and beg to go for lessons. The vendors are great as well. Can't tell you how many times Dizzy's has saved our first tracks or last run by providing a new part or great advice.

Keith Curtis, Grand Prairie, AB

A Wonderful Day on the Slopes!

February 7th, 2011

Dear Michael and your staff,

I want to thank you and AM 1150 for a wonderful day on the slopes. I could not believe my fortune when they said I was the tenth caller.

I arrived at the hill with my friend Nick Ipatowicz, who is the perfect candidate for the promotion. Nick was an avid skier, but has been off the slopes for over 15 years. We skied once at Silver Star just before Christmas and Nick had a tough time controlling his un-tuned 185’s. He quickly took to the new shorter skies, and is now a convert.

I rented the Rossignol Attraxion 8 skies and I am “in love” with them. I understand you may sell these off at the end of the season – please keep me in mind and I would be delighted to own them. The pair I rented were numbered 15402216.

We also had a wonderful lunch at Kettle Valley Steak House delicious. Next time though, no seconds!

Thanks for a wonderful day.

We will be back.

Betty & Nick

To the Staff at Big White,

February 9th, 2011

I just wanted to pass on how much fun we had at your resort.

After living in Whistler for 12 years I was a little skeptical of Big White but not anymore, 25 cms of dry OK champagne powder has made me a fan.

We had fun all over the mountain, 40 runs wide at the base is no joke either. The central location of all the condos and ski in/out factor is superb, right to the hot tubs that were the icing on the cake at the end of the day. I wanted to add that the personal service I received from both senior management Michael J Ballingall and Blair Ireland was very much appreciated and that just doesn't happen at many other resorts.

A Gold Star to your master boot-fitter Lindsay Bennett who dialed in my boots and I could tell was a real professional and a very nice man. The child we were with loved the snow tube park and the ice rink at the base of the mountain.

We can honestly say that Big White offers a very quality product at a reasonable price and we'll be highly recommending a visit to my Vancouver friends, especially those with families.
Keep the friendly staff and affordable rates and we will be back!

Thanks,

Travis & Lauren, Vancouver BC

Skiing To Dream About...

February  2nd, 2011

What we love about Big White is the lack of lines and the 'millionaire skiing' skiing for minutes without seeing anyone. As only reasonable intermediates we have some great adventures (scares) exploring without the constraint of piste skiing. The ski in/out condos and great snow helps.

Our 2 bedroom was huge and we kept losing each other! Would recommend Stonebridge Lodge to anyone. Very comfortable and great location. If you haven't yet tried the Gunbarrel Coffee in Snowshoe Sam's then I suggest you do if you ever get there.

Already dreaming of next year's trip...

David & Anna Luther - Ski Dream Clients - UK

Special Thanks to all the Ski Hosts...

Just a short note to say how we all really enjoyed our recent holiday (29th Dec, 2010 – 6th Jan, 2011) in Big White. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much of a problem.

Please pass our special thanks to all the Ski Hosts, we used the service some 6 times and had a great time with them, it was a real joy skiing with them and exploring the mountain and finding the hidden runs in the trees.

We are already thinking about and planning our return visit. 

Many thanks again for making our holiday so memorable and enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Simon, Amanda and Charles Grattan

You Have to Experience Big White Ski Resort, Kelowna BC!

June 18th, 2010

For a few years now, a friend of ours from Winnipeg has been bragging about how great Big White is. For him that resort in Kelowna British-Columbia "is the best".

We are originally from the Montreal region and we love skiing. Between the both of us, we've skied most of the resorts in the Eastern townships, the Laurentians, the Quebec region, as well as the ski resorts in Vermont and New York. Eight years ago, we did our first trip to Western Canada to get a taste for real snow; we ended up skiing the popular resorts of the West Coast and the Rockies. They were all great destinations and we enjoyed it very much.

During winter 2010, we finally accepted our friend's invitation to ski with him and discover the "largest ski-in ski-out resort" in Canada. We always had some doubts because of it's location in the Okanagan Valley. Also, because we have to take a connecting flight through Vancouver or Calgary, we had the impression that this destination was hard to get to…Wrong!

Our ski trip started on March 20th, 2010. We took a very early flight en route to Kelowna via Toronto. We arrived at 11AM local time. We were charmed by this little "international" airport and the kindness of the volunteers present to help us. We quickly had our luggage, skis, and rental car. It was now time to confront the city of Kelowna to obtain groceries for our stay. What a nice city! So easy to get to (close to the airport) and there was a good choice of stores to choose from. We had groceries in the car in record time.

It was now time to head to Big White. Again, it was child's play to head in the right direction. We took highway 33 for 32km, and then onto Big White road that brought us all the way to the resort. 24km later and a pretty significant ascent in altitude and we had arrived to the Village Centre at Big White.

Wow! We were immediately charmed by the architecture of the diverse developments on the side of the mountain. We were equally impressed with the amount of snow we were looking at. We were speechless at the thought of discovering the mountain.

After a good night's sleep, we were ready to get acquainted with Big White. With our friend the personal guide, we headed out as soon as the lifts were running. It goes without saying that the access to the slopes is unbelievable and so easy.

First stop, Black Forest. Because we are so keen on glades, this area was amazing! For the first day, we explored only a small part of this beautiful mountain and because it is so big, we only had a glimpse of what this mountain could offer.

Ces petits bonhommes de neige formés par les sapins ensevelis sous d'épaisses couches de neige. C'est même un peu irréel de skier parmi eux.

Big White really has something for everyone. We loved the variety of the slopes, the quality of the grooming and maintenance, the quality of the snow, and not to forget the beauty of the landscape. In fact, we fell in love with the famous snowghosts, those snow covered trees that beautifully make up the landscape of the upper part of the mountain.

For those who like terrain parks, TELUS Park was so cool and amazingly big. It's a giant playground for anyone who likes going off jumps or other fun features.

We had an unforgettable time skiing at Big White, perfect conditions with a mix of snow and spring sunshine.

It's a promise that we are going to come back and let all our friends know how great this beautiful resort is.

See you again soon Big White!

Sophie et Martin

I Have a Feeling you Must Hear Such Warm Auzzie Greetings a lot up at Big White!

August 20th, 2009

Just a quick note to say how very much our family enjoyed our visit to your fabulous resort.

The conditions, family friendly environment and genuine hospitality were all perfect, as was Copper Kettle Lodge.

After a great day on the slopes, my 17 year old took our girls to the fair while we prepared dinner. Later, from the comfort of our hot tub we watch the fireworks. How good is that? I would say that's a huge family memory.

Truly Big White lives up to its reputation. You, your family and your team must be very proud of the destination resort you have created.

Randall Mang

Three Seasons in a Row

May 25th, 2009

We are a Perth family with three children aged 8, 6 and 6. We have now been skiing at Big White three seasons in a row and cannot wait to go back. A lot of our friends seem apprehensive to travel so far with kids but the small hassle of the distance is by far outweighed by the champagne powder, the very family orientated resort and the most fantastic ski school including of course ladies day which is a great chance to ski with other women at your own level. Each time the whole family has had a fantastic time not just on the snow but enjoying tubing, skating, great food and service. The kids love the kid’s carnival in particular. The last two seasons we have traveled with my mum who is a non-skier. She has however found plenty of activities to do such as walking, snow-shoeing, dog sledding and yoga/pilates. I can highly recommend Big White to anyone with kids, you’ll have a ball.

Charlotte

Those Lifties Rock!

April 29th, 2009

My family and I are season’s pass holders. We have a 5 and 7 year old who are avid skiers. As you can imagine our 5 year old, Adam, is a bit small for some of the chairs but he has had excellent help boarding the ski lifts, particularly on the Ridge Rocket. Those lifties rock!

I would especially like to acknowledge Devyn (spelling?) for his superb attention at helping Adam onto the chair lift at the Ridge Rocket.
At the beginning of the season, he recognized that Adam needed help getting on the lift, so he would unobtrusively follow in behind the chair, reach over and lift Adam up onto the chair. As the season progressed, Adam gained more confidence and skill at boarding the lift. Devyn recognized this progress, so even though he was always ready at the back of the chairlift in case Adam needed help, he would let Adam get on the chair by himself. This made Adam feel very grown up and independent. So THANK YOU Devyn for not only being safety conscious but also for helping to build the confidence of a young skier!

Thank you Big White for another great year of skiing! The snow wasn’t as good as some years but the staff from the lifties to the ski instructors made the whole skiing experience great. We’re looking forward to another great season in 2009-2010!

Lyn Mainwaring

I Returned for my Third Visit to Big White...

April 17th, 2009

Earlier this year (February 9-16) I returned for my third visit to Big White; my first visit was way back in 1997 when I experienced my first white Christmas. On this trip I brought my fiancé having talked up all that Big White has to offer.  From the moment we caught the shuttle in Kelowna we knew we were going to have a great time. We were spoilt in that during that week there was the odd 3-4cm fall when this time of the season was particularly tough. A number of runs were desperately low on snow. Nonetheless, we explored all the terrain. The Cruz the Blues event was a particular highlight. I still have my free t-shirt. It is amazing how wonderful people cross your path at just the right time.

Kerry and I booked in for a private ski lesson. The instructor that had been allocated to us did not turn up for some reason and we were given another instructor: Rich. Rich asked us both what we wanted to get out of the lesson. I replied, “I wanted to ski just like Kerry”. Rich proceeded to pull my technique apart and reconstruct it. I struggled. Indeed the next day was one of my worst skiing experiences ever. Right at the end of the lesson, Rich took me to one side and quoted me a poem, which I can’t remember the title of for the life of me. Effectively, Rich told me to let it just happen for me. Those words could not have had more meaning for anyone else. Over the next few weeks skiing at other resorts in BC, I persevered with what Rich taught me. The feeling came!  My skiing improved out of sight. Rich was magnificent.

Then there was Willy. We took advantage of the ski tours that are run everyday. When we took our first ski tour we found ourselves in a big group; it was ok. A couple of days later we wanted to know how we could best ski over to Westridge. It wasn’t such good weather – definitely could not see the top of the t-bar.  Anyway, we thought we’d ask the ski tour people if they could help us. Initially everyone was reluctant to show us the way due to the weather. Then Willy piped up and offered to show us over to Westridge. Willy was just fantastic! And he’s a volunteer, doing what he loves to do – ski. He showed us safely over to Westridge without taking the t-bar, all the while showing us plenty of powder through the trees. That was one of the best days we had in Big White.

Please pass on our deepest thanks to Rich and Willy.

I look forward to seeing you all again next season.

Kind regards,

Michael Andersen

Fantastic Holiday

April 3rd, 2009

We just spent 10 days with you-had a fantastic holiday- snow was unbelievable especially the top part around the T-bar area-fresh powder -to die for- loved the tree runs wiskey jack area- had lots of fun on the tube rides with my wife-also the Friday night snowmobile run was worth every penny even digging them out was a high light when we got bogged in fresh powder -staff were all helpful and friendly-its a long way from Australia but well worth it-

Gary

Words Cannot Explain the Happiness in Seeing my Two Grandsons on Skis!

January 5th, 2009

Words can also not explain my awe at the beauty of your mountain and your professional, friendly and helpful staff.  From the parking lot attendants, the gondola (wow) staff, the gang at the kids centre, the young lady in the coffee kiosk in the day lodge and of course the instructors (Sara, Paul, Lisa), a huge thank you, job well done! And then there is also Nate at the snowmobiles (a hidden gem for sure), patient, caring, funny, and laid back guy perfect for the job and Dennis the professional, understanding and helpful cafeteria manager! I would dare anyone to say they are not treated in a 5 star manner at anytime during their visit to your facility.  My daughter was very impressed with the family oriented feel, the amount of venues available to families, and the long magic carpet. She was delighted in being able to introduce her two boys to a sport she has enjoyed since a child. We have decided next year maybe their visit will include a night at the mountain giving us time to enjoy more of your offerings and experience. Next year maybe gram and mom will teach them to skate! Oh and gram has to take a ski lesson too, that should be worth a laugh! Thank you for taking the time to call and follow up. I fully understand your busy schedule. Please enjoy the pictures taken by a very proud grandma!

Darlene

A Homespun Community and a Proposed Expansion Could make Big White the next Smart Buy..

December 2nd, 2008

According to Gary Turner, with Royal LePage Big White Property Group, there's plenty of inventory for prospective buyers. "People can find virtually anything their finances can support, from under $100,000 to over $1 million," he says. "What you would pay for a fractional at Whistler gets you a wholly owned unit here."

SKI Magazine

Visit to Big White - January 2007

September 5th, 2008

We loved Big White Ski Resort, definitely one of our favourite ski holiday destinations.

In particular the quality of the snow, long un-crowded runs and our ski-in/ski-out accommodation made it a fantastic holiday.

Thanks
We will return again.

Anthony Freedman & Family

A Note of Thanks

February 25th, 2008

Hi there, We just wanted to send a note of "Thanks" to you for the excellent service and ski lessons that many from our party received during our visit there last week. Our daughter participated in the Group lessons, and enjoyed them thoroughly. We also took private boarding and ski lessons. Stu Turnbull gave three of us the best ski lessons we've ever had, and was very kind. I personally feel that I improved dramatically because of his help. He even assisted us with a dinner party by referring us to the chef at Carver's, where we had an excellent, customized Indian meal!
Thank you, Terry Brasino

~Terry

Wow!! You Guys Rock!

February 19th, 2008

We just spent the weekend at your resort with friends. It was our first visit to Big White. But it certainly won't be our last. We had a wonderful time and your resort is fabulous!! We spent our days skiing on your beautiful runs -- chasing down Blues Cruz stamps -- and then spent our evenings tubing and enjoying the Village. Everyone we ran into that was associated with your resort was friendly and helpful. Bar none, it was one of our all time favorite vacations. We only wish you were a little closer so we could visit more frequently. Rest assured, we'll be back and we'll bring more friends and family. Thanks for everything, The Whitney's

The Whitney's

Thanks for the Fabulous Holiday!

February 19th, 2008

We have just finished our 5th visit to Big White. Again, we had a phenomenal family vacation. We sometimes end our holiday visiting relatives in Calgary and ski Lake Louise. We just want to say, the snow doesn’t compare – Big White is a better ski. Also, you always refill the tissue’s in the lift line. It is a small thing, but it IS GREATLY appreciated!!!!!!!!!!!! That was another thing my 13th year old noticed and commented on.

Tamara

From East to West Without a Worry!

April 30th, 2007

Living in New Brunswick means we are a long way from the great ski slopes of Western Canada and usually this means the first day of any ski trip is totally taken up with traveling. However I had a pleasant surprise, in late March, when I traveled to the Okanagan for some fantastic spring skiing. I was able to leave Moncton in the morning and was making turns at Silver Star that afternoon. Thanks to a great West Jet connection, out of Moncton at 06:15 and into Kelowna at 10:44, I was making turns by 13:30. There was even time in Toronto for a Tim’s and a bite. So when you are planning your next ski trip out West don’t forget that with both Big White and Silver Star you can be skiing or riding on the same day you leave home.

Ron Gathercole

Kuddos to the Big White Ski & Board School

April 1st, 2007

My family and I spent our first full day at Big White yesterday after arriving here from Hong Kong on Friday for a week long stay. My three children (15, 13, and 9 years) have never skied and my most recent experience dates back about 15 years. We arranged a full day lesson yesterday and we had the pleasure of being assigned to Mark Shaxted.

I was very impressed indeed with Mark's skill and instructional ability. He immediately established an effective rapport with each of us, especially with Katie, my youngest. He was able to offer the kids the very basic instruction they needed and he made it enjoyable and fun. Taking into account the sensibilities of teenagers, he pitched his instruction at an appropriate level and did not make them feel uncomfortable. On the contrary Mark's enthusiasm and encouragement brought out the best in them.

My wife and I are interested in purchasing real estate here and Mark proved to be an excellent ambassador for your mountain. He provided us with a terrific introduction to Big White and set the tone for what promises to be a very good holiday.

Incidentally, Mark also maintained a watchful awareness of what was going on around him. Without inconveniencing us he assisted a very small girl who was unhappy and seemed to have been overlooked by her own instructor.

I would be grateful if you would pass along our sincere thanks to Mark. We wish him every success with his upcoming examinations.

Martin Baggaley

Above and Beyond

February 19th, 2007

I have just arrived home after spending a week with my family at Big White. We are a family of regular travelers who enjoy holiday’s world wide but I feel that I have to write to thank you and your staff for what can only be described as an amazing holiday.

The first problem we experienced was that my son, who has downs syndrome, could not ski. The guys in the equipment rental shop patiently and kindly fitted him out with all of the gear. He then went for his lesson but could not get the skis on. The ski instructor was amazing – she tried everything to get him sorted out but it was not to be. We disappointedly returned to the rental shop to return the equipment. The guys in the rental shop immediately took control of everything! Sorting out a full refund for the skiing and making it their mission to ensure that Ben got to the top of the mountain. What fantastic service, what fantastic people! They suggested that we take Ben on the snow limo. I booked immediately.

We spent 2 hours on the snow limo with Charlie and Slade. Now these two are really special people. They went out of their way to ensure that Ben and I had an experience to remember. It was that great that we booked to go again on our final day.

We had further injury issues and our youngest girl fell on the slopes, when trying to help a very young child get out of some trees, and lost her skis. Jeff in the equipment hire shop again dealt with the situation for us, sending out some of his guys to find the skis.

This level of service, kindness and all together friendliness is above and beyond anything that I have ever experienced on any holiday. You have managed to bring together some amazing people right through from bar staff in the Happy Valley Day Lodge to the guys at the top of the mountain helping to get the snow limo off of the lifts. I thank and congratulate you and your staff for giving us the most fantastic week – we will be back and we will be letting everyone know where to come for what must be the best in everything that a ski holiday can offer

Many, many thanks

Ian Champion

First Ski Trip to Canada

September 19th, 2006

My name is Owen King and I am 16 years old. I took up skiing last year and went to Canada for my first big ski trip. We stayed at Silver Star resort for a week and went to Big white afterwards for a days skiing. I know these being the first resorts I have visited I don't really have anything to compare them to but can I just say that these two are just pure perfection, both have over 100 runs, receive great Okanagan powder which is groomed to perfection and overall have a great atmosphere for families and seasoned skiers alike. Big White has by far a bigger village and offers better apres-ski entertainment but Silver Stars' mountain village is not to be ignored either.

Owen King

Well Done Ski & Board School

April 25th, 2006

Very rarely in our busy lives do we take the time to say 'Well done.'

However I feel compelled to write to you, and commend you and your staff, for the magnificence of the Big White Ski School. Your teaching and care were superlative.

My two daughters, Phoebe and Georgia Freeman, have just completed nine half day sessions with you. Not only did the children enjoy themselves immensely but they achieved so much more than they have ever achieved in a European ski school.

My fondest memory of the holiday was our first ever family ski down the Humming Bird run. ( Which we did after only 3 mornings in ski school for the girls, and our youngest had never made it down a green run before. ) The girls progress was, in the words of many of your instructors "Awesome". All credit due to your staff. By the end of their 9 sessions with you, we were all hurtling down the blue runs.

Not only are you methods of teaching amazing but the fact that so many of your staff greeted us outside of lesson time and engaged the children, even though they may not have been taught by them on that specific day was marvelous.

Two members of staff stood out particularly for our family. Drew and Aurilia. Not only were they fantastic teachers but were friendly, fun and enthusiastic on and off the piste to children and adults alike.

I may even take lessons as well next year because the Ski School at Big White has instilled so much confidence in me, I might even be able to iron out few old well established bad habits of my own!

Once again thank you so much, and well done on a magnificently run school. Your staff should be very proud of themselves.

Louise Freeman

Well Worth All the Accolades!

April 24th, 2006

My family and I travelled to Big White for the first 2 weeks of February to have our first skiing holiday overseas and I must say that Big White lived up to everything we expected. The snow, the village, the snow, the people, the snow, the staff and the great snow made the long trip worthwhile.

Congratulations to you as a resort company on great facilities and a constant concern that everyone has a good time makes Big White stand out from all the others. The staff you employ from all around the world add to the great Canadian hospitality we enjoyed for 2 glorious weeks.If I can only work out a way to work and live there? Maybe I will have to work on opening an office there?

Anyway, congratulations again on a great resort and one well worth all the accolades it receives.

John Boast

Thank You for a Fantastic Holiday!

March 30th, 2006

My sister and I visited Big White between March 11 and March 18, 2006. We both had a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable holiday, largely due to the friendly staff, excellent facilities and well organized activities. Furthermore, at each of the activities we attended, such as the Taste of Big White, Big White Idol and Ladies Day, we were made to feel more than welcome and our needs were well attended to.

I have previously skied at numerous resorts throughout North America, Europe and Australasia and have worked at Perisher Blue Ski Resort (Australia) and Steamboat Ski and Resort Corporation (USA) and have been extremely impressed by Big White's superior client service standards and facilities.

I must particularly commend Oliver, an English ski instructor, with whom I took a level 5 ski lesson. I found his instructions to be extremely helpful and well delivered in a friendly and professional manner. As a result of his instructions my skiing technique, in particular my approach to moguls, has improved immensely. I have since found that, rather than avoid mogul runs, I actually seek them out to ensure I continue to improve my technique.

We also found the ski school ticket sellers and the ski and snowboard rental staff very friendly and helpful.

I would like to express our appreciation and thank all of the staff at Big White who made our holiday one we will never forget. We both look forward to returning to Big White in the near future.

Debra Clem (Brisbane, Australia)

A Wonderful Experience

March 15th, 2006

Hello there, my family and I are anxious to give you feedback from our wonderful vacation at Big White Resort (March 7th-11th). We stayed in a great condo at the Stonebridge (#104) and will excitedly plan to return to that condo!

Every aspect of our visit to Big White was exceptional! Starting with every single member of staff - including the shuttle drivers, check-in staff, restaurateurs, shopkeepers, instructors...and everyone else. What extraordinary attention is given to guests and their families. The attitude of every person working at and for Big White was exemplary and surprising. It's clear we are settling for far too little at our home in Toronto! Thank you...

It's obvious that with the plans for expansion at Big White, the resort will continue to be appealing to skiers and their families. The village, the facilities, the condo options.

We'll look forward to visiting again in the not too distant future with several members of our family (9 siblings, their spouses; 28 nieces & nephews and 26 great nieces and nephews!)

Thank you for this wonderful experience. A memory that will be with us for a very long time...

Ann Dempster